Our Structure
Council Members

The affairs of the Institute are managed by the General Council, the members of which are:

President: Mr. Joel CHAN
Vice President (Local Affairs): Mr. Donald CHOI
Vice President (Professional Development):   Mr. Stefan KRUMMECK
Vice President (External Affairs): Mr. Barry WILSON
Hon. Secretary: Mr. Charles LI
Hon. Treasurer: Mr. Benny CHAN
Other Council Members: Prof. Alain CHIARADIA
Ms. Sunnie LAU
Dr. Peter Cookson SMITH
Mr. P.Y. TAM
Ms. Casey WANG
Mr. Franklin YU
Academic Advisors: Prof. Mee Kam NG
Prof. Hendrik TIEBEN
Immediate Past President:  Prof. Stephen TANG, BBS

Various committees comprising members of the Institute are responsible for specific areas of the Institute’s affairs. To date these committees include:

From time to time, the Council may set up taskforces to handle certain issues which demand particular attention such as upcoming conferences, awards competitions, annual dinner, and revisions to Articles and bye-laws etc.

Articles and Bye-law

The Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design is a company limited by guarantee which was incorporated under the Companies Ordinance in 2010.
The Institute is governed by a memorandum and by articles of association. Together with a set of bye-laws now approved at the EGM held on 5th May 2011 these instruments cover, amongst other things, the classes and rights of and requirements of entry to membership of the Institute, the composition and powers of the council to manage the Institute and the conduct of general meetings.

HKIUD Articles of Association [PDF file]
HKIUD Bye-laws [PDF file]

Code of Conduct

Essentially, the code will spell out the aspirations and vision of the Institute. It will promote high standards of practice by establishing a framework for the acceptable professional behaviour and responsibilities of members. Rules will be incorporated to apply and enforce the code where breaches occur.

HKIUD Code of Conduct [PDF file]